About Us




The CFM was formed on 6th February 1985 and was officially registered with the Registrar of Societies on 14th January 1986 (ROS number PPM-003- 10-14011986).

It fulfilled the aspirations of the churches to have a national body whereby the united voice of the Christians can be expressed on national issues.  

The formation of the CFM was an unprecedented decision and an act of faith of the Church as it brought together three major streams of Christianity in Malaysia – the Roman Catholic Church, the churches affiliated to the Council of Churches of Malaysia and to the National Evangelical Christian Fellowship (NECF).  

CFM’s first chairman was the Catholic Bishop of Penang, Rt. Revd. Antony Selvanayagam.   


CFM consists of three national Christian bodies comprising 

  • the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Malaysia, 
  • the Council of Churches of Malaysia (CCM) and 
  • the National Evangelical Christian Fellowship (NECF).  

Together they represent 2.62 million Christians which is about 9.2% of the Malaysian population of 28.3 million (2010 Census report).  

Of this number more than 60% of the Christians are Bahasa Malaysia-speaking and are to be found mainly in Sabah, Sarawak and also in Peninsular Malaysia. 

CFM today represents more than 90% of the churches in Malaysia. 

In every state, there is a CFM state liaison committee which liaises with the state authorities on issues affecting the Christian community in the respective states and this committee also forms the Christian component of the various Malaysian Consultative Council of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism and Taoism (MCCBCHST) state branches. 

CFM continues to have strong organisational links and relationships with the Sabah Council of Churches (which is led at present by Bishop Datuk Melter Tais, 2017-2019) and the Association of Churches in Sarawak (which is headed today by Rev. Dato’ Dr. Justin Wan, 2017-2019).    

CFM is a member of the Malaysian Consultative Council of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism and Taoism (MCCBCHST) and through it we are constituent members of the Cabinet-appointed Committee for the Promotion of Understanding and Harmony among Religious Adherents (JKMPKA).  

CFM is also a member of the Selangor State Committee for Affairs Other than Islam (JHESI) and has been appointed as a member of the Federal Territories Advisory Committee for Non-Islamic Places of Worship (RIBI).   


According to its constitution, the stated objectives of CFM are as follows : 

  • To bring together all Christians who accept the authority of the Holy Bible and who subscribe to the cardinal doctrines of Christianity as set forth in the Apostles’ Creed; 
  • To reinforce and extend, wherever possible, through dialogue and consultation, the areas of common agreement among the various  Christian groups in Malaysia; 
  • To look after the interests of the Christian community as a whole with particular reference to religious freedom and rights as enshrined in the Federal Constitution; 
  • To represent the Christian community in Malaysia on all matters that affect or are of interest to it;
  • To consult and work with the Government and non-governmental (religious and secular) bodies at all administrative levels, on all matters of common interest and concern.


Since its formation, CFM continues to do the following : 

  • Participate actively with the Malaysian Consultative Council of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism and Taoism. The MCCBCHST celebrated its 30th anniversary in 2013;  
  • Represent Christian interests at official meetings with government officials at the federal, state and local government;  
  • Issue statements on significant current issues arising from national and state policies;  
  • Work with civil organisations to protect civil liberties in Malaysia;  
  • Organise National Christian Conferences to promote fellowship among church leaders and to facilitate their sharing of views on current issues. 


The current chairman of CFM is Archbishop Julian Leow Beng Kim, who is also the present chairman of the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Malaysia, and together with him the 15-member Executive Committee directs the work of CFM.  

The Executive Committee members (2017-2019) are as follows:   

  • Most Reverend Julian Leow Beng Kim, Archbishop of Kuala Lumpur (Chairman of CFM)
  • Most Reverend Simon Poh Hoon Seng, Archbishop of Kuching (Vice-chairman of CFM)
  • Bishop Dr. Ong Hwai Teik (Vice-chairman of CFM)  
  • Revd. Dr. Eu Hong Seng (Vice-chairman of CFM)   
  • Dr. Khoo Kay Hup (Hon.Secretary) 
  • Bishop Datuk Melter Tais (Assistant Hon. Secretary) 
  • Bishop Aaron Yap Chuan Ching (Hon. Treasurer)
  • Revd. Ong Sek Leang (Assistant Hon. Treasurer) 
  • Ms. Rita Sabrina Wong Kee Ling
  • Dato’ Lily Zachariah 
  • Ms. Christine Khaw
  • Revd. Datuk Jerry Dusing   
  • Revd. Fr. George Harrison 
  • Mr. Arokiadass Anthonysamy
  • Mr. Gopala Krishnan K. Sundaram 


CFM is advised by its legal panel consisting of the following : 

  • Datuk Joy Appukuttan  
  • Mr. Christopher Leong
  • Dato’ Dr. Cyrus Das  
  • Canon Andrew Khoo Chin Hock 
  • Mr. Lim Heng Seng   
  • Dato’ Jerald Gomez  


  • 1979 Working Together for Christ 
  • 1982 Witnessing in a Multi-religious Society 
  • 1987 Christian Commitment : Imperatives, Implications and Impact 
  • 1991 Sandcastles or Lighthouse? The Malaysian Church in the Nation
  • 1995 The Way Forward : Towards a Caring Society, Just Society and Moral Society 
  • 1999 With Christ into the New Millennium
  • 2005 National Integration and Unity : the Church’s Response
  • 2009 Navigating Through Storms 
  • 2013 As the Nation Transforms… 
  • 2017 Seek the Peace of the Land (Jer. 29 : 7)


The work of CFM is implemented by its Secretariat which is led by the Executive Secretary, Mr. Tan Kong Beng, and is assisted by the Principal Secretaries Revd. Fr. Dr. Clarence Devadass (the Director of the Catholic Archdiocesan Pastoral Institute), Revd. Dr. Hermen Shastri (the General Secretary of CCM) and Revd. Andy Chi (the Assistant Secretary-General of the NECF).   


Mr. Tan Kong Beng, 

The Executive Secretary,

CCM Ecumenical Centre, Level 2,

No. 26 Jalan Universiti, 

46200 Petaling Jaya,

Selangor DE, 


Tel / Fax : + 60 3 7957 1457 

Emails :  cfm.exesec08@gmail.com (ES) / cfmsia@yahoo.co.uk (general) 

Updated 24 January 2018.